Chick-Free Chickpea Burgers

I’ve come across some really great recipes in my quest to become meat & dairy free. This particular one I got out of The 30-Day Vegan Challenge which I rented from the library.

This is an awesome go to book that has everything you want to know about being vegan plus some crazy awesome recipes. It is the only book that I’ve read so far that lays down everything you want to know, so naturally it is the only one that I considered buying. Unfortunately the book has been discontinued for some God forsaken reason, so after looking everywhere for it the only thing I can come up with is copies on amazon selling for $100+ (yeah right!)

What were we talking about again? Oh.. right, the burgers. Yes, well here is one of the recipes from the book and it came out freagin dericious. I tweaked the recipe a bit to adjust to what I had on hand. I didn’t have some of the spices but the hippie food store I go to sells them in bulk so you can just buy as little or as much of the spice as you need without having to drop $8 on a brand new bottle (like I’m ever going to use coriander again, I don’t even know what that is)

Chickpea Burgers:

Ingredients (Burgers):

– 1 can (15 oz) chickpeas, drained

– 1 small yellow onion finely chopped

– 3 cloves minced garlic

– 1/4 cup chopped fresh parsley

– 3 tablespoons tahini

– 2 tsp ground cumin

– 1 tsp ground coriander

– 1/2 tsp salt

– 1/8 tsp fresh ground pepper

– 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper

– 1 tsp lemon juice

– 1 tsp baking powder

– 1 1/2 c plain bread crumbs

– 4 hamburger buns (I used these bad boys oh yeah)

The directions say to use a food processor. I am poor and cannot afford such luxuries, so I was able to get my daily exercise by mashing the chickpeas with a fork (I’m kidding it really wasn’t that labor intensive, but a food processor would be nice) Dump the things into a bowl. Throw in the rest of the ingrediments. Save the bread crumbs for last. Shape 4 patties, slap em on a baking sheet. Over some olive oil if you’re feelin fancy. 10-12 minutes at 400 degrees (oh yeah you were supposed to preheat the oven… surprise!) flip em, give em another 10 and the rest as they say, is history. Warm golden crunchy history.

Great for when you don’t want to feel awkward at barbecues

Oh yeah and don’t forget to make this Tahini sauce… it’s the bees knees… you know… if bees had knees

Tahini Sauce Ingredients:

– 1 6 oz container of soy yogurt, plain

– 2 tablespoons Tahini

– 1/2 cucumber, peeled and finely chopped

– 2 teaspoons lemon juice

– 1 tsp minced fresh parsley

– salt and pepper to taste

Mix that together while you wait for the burgers to cook. Let it chill in the fridge and voila! The perfect sauce to compliment these delicious cruelty-free burgers. Even my meat loving family wanted in. I can’t say I blame them.

Even though I made a special sauce just for the burgers my sister still insists on putting veganaise on everything

One response to “Chick-Free Chickpea Burgers

  1. This definitely looks interesting – I have loads of friends and family that don’t eat meat so I’ll cook this for them if the occasion arises! I’m not sure I’d be able to live without bacon though!

Leave a Reply

